Reports show that the demand for qualified plumbers is surging in Louisiana. Companies across the state are looking for qualified tradespeople to help them meet the growing call. Those who are interested in rising to the challenge must meet a few prerequisites, one of which is acquiring their licenses to legally provide plumbing services.
Types of Plumber Licenses in Louisiana
Different types of plumber licenses are available in Louisiana. Once apprentices meet the state’s requirements, they can apply for their Journeyman License. From there, they can proceed to a Master Plumber License. Plumbing Contractor Licenses can also be obtained.
Louisiana Plumber License Requirements
Louisiana requires plumbers to be licensed. If they’re providing services without a license, they’re operating illegally. Plumbing apprentices, who are newcomers to the industry, must register with the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana.
To acquire their licenses as journeymen, they must complete an accredited apprenticeship program or accrue five years or 8,000 hours of hands-on experience working under a licensed plumber. They’re required to provide documentation of that experience, too.
To obtain a Master Plumber License, applicants must hold a Journeyman License. To take matters a step further and become licensed plumbing contractors, applicants must hold a Master Plumber License. Each phase requires applicants to pass extensive exams and prove their qualifications to provide professional plumbing services.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Plumber License in Louisiana?
Several expenses are associated with becoming a licensed plumber in Louisiana. Initially, apprentices must pay a $20 registration fee to the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana. Then, those aspiring to become journeymen must pay a $135 application fee and a licensing fee of $50.
For master plumber applicants, the fees are $110 for applying and $190 for licensing. For Contractor Licenses, the fees are $120 for licensing, $120 for the state’s Business and Law requirements, and an additional $60 for a financial background check.
Louisiana Plumber Licensing Exams
As noted, applicants must pass exams to obtain their plumber licenses in Louisiana. Beforehand, they need to have their applications, proofs of experience, and additional paperwork submitted. Applications should be notarized as well.
All applicable fees must be paid before taking the license exams. Journeyman License exams are available in January, April, July, and October. Master License exams are available in February, May, August, and November.
Journeyman exams last three hours and cover both written and hands-on material. The master exam consists of three parts, all of which are written. Like the journeyman exam, the first part of the master exam covers plumbing and residential codes. It also entails relevant construction aspects and public health sanitary codes. The final portion of the exam covers business, law, and project management.
Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in Louisiana?
The State Plumbing Board of Louisiana issues Journeyman and Master Plumber Licenses. Contractor Licenses are issued by the State Licensing Board for Contractors. These licenses are only valid in the state of Louisiana; they don’t carry over to other states.
Other Plumbing Certifications in Louisiana
To legally provide plumbing services in Louisiana, plumbers need only hold licenses. Still, additional certifications can build their credibility. Those include certifications from the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials and National Inspection Testing and Certification to name a couple of the most common.