Residents and business owners throughout Oregon are looking for top-notch plumbers to handle their plumbing repairs, maintenance, and installations. At the same time, plumbing companies across the state have a constantly growing need for licensed plumbers. Read on to learn more about working as a plumber in Oregon.
Plumbing License Requirements in Oregon
Oregon is one of many states that requires plumbers to be licensed. Requirements come into play even at entry-level positions.
Apprentices must be registered with the state through their employers or training programs.
To participate in a plumbing training program, prospects must be at least 18 years old and have either a high school diploma or a GED.
Plumbing licenses must be renewed every three years in Oregon. Some licenses require ongoing education as well.
To become a journeyman, an apprentice must complete four years of training in an apprenticeship program or have a valid referral from an accredited authority.
He or she must also provide proof of at least 576 hours of classroom training in the plumbing field and 3,850 hours of both residential and commercial hands-on experience.
Specialty licenses can be obtained, too, with specific training and experience requirements for each.
Types of Plumbing Licenses in Oregon
Beyond the journeyman license, plumbers can also apply for plumbing contractor licenses.
Those applying for a contractor license must complete 16 hours of education in business management and law.
Plumbers can also apply for licenses in solar heating and cooling installation, water heater installation, and water treatment installation licenses.
Different prerequisites apply to each type of license with relevant training being a primary requirement.
Cost to Get a Plumbing License in Oregon
For Journeyman, Water Treatment Installer, Residential Water Heater Installer, and Solar Heating and Cooling Installer licenses, the fee is $100.
Plumbing Business Contractor Licenses cost $250. Tuition costs for training and apprenticeship programs vary but can be as high as $5,000 per year.
Oregon Plumbing Licensing Exam
One of the requirements for being granted a plumbing license in Oregon is passing an exam.
Those who wish to obtain their plumbing licenses must apply to take the exam and provide proof that they’ve met the requirements for doing so.
Most plumber license exams in Oregon are open book. A score of 75 percent or better is required to pass.
For the contractor exam, applicants must answer 80 questions and earn a score of 70 percent or higher.
Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in Oregon?
Most plumbing licenses in Oregon are issued by the Oregon Building Codes Division Office.
Contractor licenses are issued by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board. This organization also issues specialty plumbing licenses.
Additional Plumbing Certifications in Oregon
Plumbers who want to acquire additional certifications can do so through the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials.
They can also gain recognition with National Inspection Testing and Certification. Additional certifications are also available.
These credentials aren’t required for plumbers in Oregon, but they can help bolster plumbers’ and contractors’ professional reputations.