Mississippi plumbing companies need qualified personnel to ensure they can meet the growing demand for plumbers. Read more about the following requirements for becoming a plumber in the state and getting plumbing jobs in Mississippi.
Mississippi Plumbing License Requirements
Mississippi has unique licensing requirements for plumbing.
For plumbers who work on projects that cost less than $10,000, licenses aren’t required.
On the other hand, those who provide services totaling more than $10,000 must be licensed.
Applicants must be 18 years old and have a driver’s license as well as a high school diploma or GED.
Work experience requirements vary depending on the type of license being applied for.
Types of Plumbing Licenses in Mississippi
Apprentices, journeymen, and master plumbers aren’t required to hold licenses per the previously mentioned guidelines.
That said, plumbers who plan to provide commercial services can obtain a Mechanical Contractor License.
They can also earn specialty licenses, such as boiler installation and repair, welding, plumbing, irrigation systems, and process piping.
Licensed plumbers can pursue one or all of these specialties depending on the type of projects they want to handle.
Cost of a Plumbing License in Mississippi
Taking the exam to become a certified residential plumber requires a $50 application fee.
For commercial contractor license applicants, the fee is $400.
The cost of a single specialty is included in the application fee, but additional specialties cost $100 apiece.
Additionally, each portion of the contractor license exam costs $120 for a total of $240 for both portions.
Plumbing Licensing Exams in Mississippi
Though Mississippi’s plumber licensing laws are laxer than those of other states, their requirements for obtaining a contractor license are extensive. Applications must be notarized and fees paid in advance of taking the exams.
A range of documents must also be submitted with the application, including proof of applicable experience and business registration, financial statements, proof of insurance coverage, and reference letters to name a few.
Exams themselves cover knowledge of plumbing as well as law and business management.
The skills test consists of 70 questions, and applicants are allotted three hours to complete the exam.
For the law and business management portion of the exam, applicants must answer 50 questions in two hours or less.
Those who take the mechanical contractor exam must answer 100 questions. To pass the exams, a score of at least 70 percent is required.
Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in Mississippi?
Commercial plumbing licenses are issued by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.
It’s important to understand that plumbers may need local licensing in the areas where they provide services.
Additional Plumbing Certifications
As is the case in most states, plumbers can receive extra certifications to reinforce their credentials.
National Inspection Testing and Certification and backing by the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials are a couple of the most well-known.
Although these certifications aren’t required in Mississippi, they can help professional plumbers build trust among consumers.
Can I Transfer a Plumbing License to Mississippi?
Mississippi does not have plumbing license reciprocity, meaning out of state plumbers cannot transfer their licenses into Mississippi.
Remember, the state doesn’t issue plumbing licenses for those who perform work that costs less than $10,000 per project, so some plumbers may not need license reciprocity after all.