All plumbers working in New Jersey must hold appropriate plumbing licenses or registrations. This is true not just of master plumbers but also of apprentices and journeymen training under their supervision. So read on to learn about the plumbing license requirements to work in plumbing jobs in the state of New Jersey.
Types of Plumbing Licenses in New Jersey
Technically, the only license required by the state is the master plumber license. Apprentices and journeyman do not need licenses, but are required to be registered with the state.
To qualify to take the master plumber exam, plumbers must be at least 21 years old and legally reside in the USA. Aside from these basic requirements, New Jersey offers two tracks to getting a master plumbing license.
One is to go through an approved apprenticeship program. People who take this approach must be able to prove that they’ve been employed in the plumbing trade for at least five years, including at least one as a journeyman, and provide proof of completion of an approved plumbing apprenticeship program.
The second solution is to attend an accredited college or university and obtain a bachelor’s degree in mechanical, plumbing, or sanitary engineering before becoming a journeyman plumber, then spend one year working in the field.
Journeymen and apprentices only need to register with the Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers. They don’t need to complete exams and obtain licenses.
Cost to Get a Plumbing License in New Jersey
Although apprentices and journeymen don’t need licenses in New Jersey, they still have to pay registration fees.
For apprentices, the fee is $50. Journeymen pay $75 registration fees, and master plumbers pay $100.
The different parts of the master plumbing exam all have their own associated fees. Here’s what to expect:
- $83 for the NJ Master Plumber Trade exam
- $103 for the NJ Plumber Trade Practical exam
- $43 for the NJ Business and Law exam
If applicants pass all sections of the exam, they can go on to obtain master plumber’s licenses. The cost for these licenses is $160 every two years. However, licensed plumbers in New Jersey also have to carry $3,000 surety bonds.
Plumber Licensing Exams in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey has a contract with PSI testing services to administer all of its plumbing examinations.
Applicants who are taking plumbing exams for the first time must complete all three portions on the same day.
However, individual parts can be retaken with six-month intervals in between. Exam-takers must pass all three sections before they can become licensed master plumbers.
PSI offers information about how to study and what to expect during the exam as part of its Candidate Information Bulletin.
The Master Plumber Trade and Business and Law exams are both open-book. The trade exam contains 100 questions and has a time limit of 195 minutes. Expect it to cover:
- Plumbing materials
- Traps and interceptors
- Backflow prevention
- Fixtures, fittings, and appliances
- Water supply
- Drains and waste
- Vent systems
The Master Plumber Practical exam has 25 questions that focus on isometric and figure analysis and must be completed within 130 minutes.
The Business and Law exam has 50 questions related to contracting and must be completed in 130 minutes.
Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in New Jersey?
Plumbing licenses in New Jersey are issued by the State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers.
New Jersey Plumbing Certifications
New Jersey doesn’t issue state plumbing certifications. However, master plumbers in the state often obtain certifications from national professional organizations like the ASSE and the NITC to prove their merits to clients.