How to Become a Licensed Plumber in North Carolina

Table of Contents

In North Carolina, the demand for licensed plumbers is expected to surge by at least 15 percent in the coming years. Of course, plumbing is a complicated trade that requires extensive knowledge and experience. Take a look at some of the main requirements for getting a plumbing license and getting a plumbing job in North Carolina.

License Requirements for Plumbers in North Carolina

In North Carolina, plumbing contractors must be licensed to legally provide services.

For apprentices, journeymen, and master plumbers, no license is needed. Still, those professionals must be employed by licensed plumbing contractors.

To become a licensed contractor, applicants must have at least two years or 4,000 hours of experience in the plumbing industry. Technical training can be counted for up to half of that time.

Those hoping to become licensed plumbing technicians must have at least 18 months or 3,000 hours of hands-on experience in the fields for which they want to become licensed.

Types of Plumbing Licenses in North Carolina

Various types of plumber licenses are available in North Carolina.

Plumbing Technicians can receive licenses, though they must work as sublicensees of contractors. They can’t branch out on their own to provide plumbing contractor services.

Plumbing Class-I Contractor licenses are also available. They qualify contractors to provide services in residential, commercial, and industrial settings.

Plumbing Class-II Contractor Licenses enable plumbers to legally provide services in single-family residences.

Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor Licenses apply to the installation, repair, and maintenance of exterior water service and sewer piping, backflow prevention devices on two-inch pipes, and water filtration systems.

Cost to Obtain a Plumbing License in North Carolina

Exam fees are $100 for both contractor and technician licenses. Applicants must also pay a $150 license activation fee for a contractor license or $75 for a technician license.

North Carolina Plumbing Licensing Exams

The Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License exam is two hours long, and the technician exam and those for other contractor licenses are four hours long.

Applicants for contractor licenses also have to take a business law exam that lasts about an hour and a half.

Upon being approved for licensing exams, applicants must schedule their tests within 30 days of being notified of approval.

Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in North Carolina?

North Carolina plumbing licenses are issued by the State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating, and Fire Sprinkler Contractors. This division of the North Carolina Department of Commerce is responsible for issuing all licenses in the plumbing sector.

Additional Plumbing Certifications

National Inspection Testing and Certification and International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials certification are available for licensed plumbers in North Carolina.

These extra certifications aren’t required by law, however they can be a boon for both plumbers and contractors.

Can I Transfer a Plumbing License to North Carolina?

North Carolina does not have plumbing license reciprocity, meaning plumbers cannot transfer out of state licenses into North Carolina.

Related Links

North Carolina Plumbing Jobs

North Carolina Plumbing Schools

North Carolina Plumber Salaries