In New Hampshire, all plumbers must have state-issued licenses. Read on to learn how to become a plumber in New Hampshire and get a plumbing job in the state.
Types of Plumbing Licenses in New Hampshire
There are three types of plumbers licenses in New Hampshire:
- Apprentice Plumber License
- Journeyman Plumber License
- Master Plumber License
Apprentice plumbers work under more experienced industry experts to get practical work experience, typically in the context of training programs.
Requirements for apprentice plumbers licenses include being a US citizen or permanent resident, having a high school diploma or equivalent, and being at least 16 years old.
Getting an apprentice plumbers license involves applying directly to apprenticeship programs and then registering the agreement letter offered upon acceptance to the licensing board.
The board then offers an apprentice identification card, which must be carried for four years of on-the-job training before an apprentice obtains an official apprentice license.
Journeyman plumbing licenses can be obtained by people who are at least 18 years old and carry apprentice licenses. They can be renewed every two years with proof that the journeyman plumber has completed at least three hours per year of continuing education.
Master plumbing licenses are required to operate businesses or act as journeyman plumbers without second licenses.
They can be obtained by journeyman plumbers who have at least six months of experience on the job.
As with journeyman plumbing licenses, master plumbing licenses must be renewed every two years.
Cost to Get a Plumbing License in New Hampshire
The cost to get a plumbers license in New Hampshire varies depending on the level of licensure.
While master plumbers need to pay a $310 initial application fee, then a $300 renewal fee every two years, journeyman plumbers only pay $190 and $180 respectively for the same services.
Registering as an apprentice costs $90.
The first licensing exam that aspiring plumbers can take in New Hampshire is the First Year Bypass Test, a 100-question electronic exam that allows apprentices who obtain a passing grade of 70% to bypass their first year of instruction.
Test-takers must be at least 16 years old at the time that they take the exam.
Journeyman and master plumbers licenses require passing different exams, which are administered by two different testing organizations approved by the state.
Most plumbers complete exams administered by ProV, but the NH Gasfitters Plumbing Exams are also an option for specialists.
Who Issues Plumbing Licenses in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, plumbing licenses are issued by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.
This is a change from the state’s pre-2021 practice of entrusting the process of issuing licenses to the Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board.
Additional Plumbing Certifications
National plumbing certifications aren’t required by the state of New Hampshire.
However, completing certification programs through reputable organizations like the NITC or the ASSE can help plumbers advance in their careers by giving plumbers a means of demonstrating their proficiency.
Can I Transfer a Plumbing License to New Hampshire?
There is no plumbing license reciprocity in New Hampshire, meaning out of state plumbers cannot transfer their licenses into New Hampshire.